Bombs Away!

ImageSo if you’re anything like me, when you first discovered Pinterest, you lost a good, solid 12 hours of your life.  I’m sure everyone figured out the awesomeness of this site about 3 years ago, but until recently, I didn’t have a crafting, cooking bone in my body, or any desire to find one.  But the story changes one night when I was looking on Tumblr for images of a hair color I wanted…after not finding enough pictures, for some reason, Pinterest popped into my mind and I thought I would explore.  Twelve hours later…I had more than a handful of hair color images to choose from, along with new boards for nail polish, women’s fashion trends (aptly entitled “styling up in this piece”), crafting options, exercises, healthy cooking ideas, you get the idea.  As I was browsing the craft boards (never thought I would write that sentence!), I noticed delicious recipes for concocting my own bath bombs and pinned a few.

I love love love bath bombs, but hate hate hate the prices at Lush!  Yet I still pay them every time, as I’m a huge sucker for how adorable and coma inducing their bombs are.  The bath bombs I usually pick out end up costing between $6-$8 each, and it’s just ludicrous that a bath accessory should cost that much!  Armed with by far the weirdest shopping list of my life (ummm, hello citric acid, I’m looking at you), I traveled to three separate crafting stores and a health food market, and gathered my supplies.  Now comes the fun part…

I followed the recipe carefully, mixed gently, avoided dampening the mixture too much (except at one point, accidentally, the bowl started fizzing maniacally), then carefully pressed the grainy powder into silicon cupcake molds and a mini-muffin pan.  And waited for magic.  I let them sit overnight, and then popped out the heart-shaped ones no problem, as the mold was flexible and easy to wriggle.  However, this was not the story for the mini-muffin tin, and I had to savagely pry out the bombs out of this pan, and determined they would be excellent bath bomb crumblies!

One caveat, I would recommend switching up glasses for contacts, as I swiped a tiny bit of bath bomb goodness on the corner of my frames!  Not to worry, it quickly came off, but I would hate to damage these gems.

Image

Leave a Reply

